VF051 IFR Durban to Johannesburg, South Africa

On Wednesday 22nd September 2021, at 9pm BST (2000Z) we will host an IFR flight from King Shaka International in Durban to Johannesburg International, South Africa. There will be no ATC, but there will be lots of conversation, assistance, tips, stories, and laughter en-route.

We are an inclusive, relaxed group – we recognise that some may not have flown IFR before, or operated the commercial jets, so encourage mentoring from more experienced pilots as much as possible. Although take-off is scheduled for 9pm BST, it may be worth arriving early to setup your aircraft, and/or to help others set-up theirs. Use the streaming functionality in Discord!

Flight Plan

Departure

  • Airport : FALE King Shaka International, Durban
  • Runway : 06
  • SID : GYV1A

En-Route Waypoints

  • LYV
  • WDV (if you don’t have WDV, use WRV)

Destination

  • Airport : FAOR Johannesburg International
  • Runway : 03R
  • Approach : ILS FI03R-Z
  • STAR : NIBE1B

Suggested Aircraft

Any of the commercial aircraft. The flight is estimated to take 1 hour in the A320, landing at 10pm BST (2100Z) – so be prepared to take off early if flying anything slower that may impact the arrival time significantly.

Voice Communications

Voice communication will be provided via the Virtual Flight Online Discord Server:

Network

Connect to the “SOUTH EAST ASIA” server in MSFS (click your Microsoft avatar within the configuration screens to see the server choice). If you would like to see other aircraft within mapping software such as LittleNavMap while en-route, check out the Transmitter application.